Top Text

The new single:
Together (Live at Hradec Králové 2019)

Listen Here
Single Cover


"To conclude:  The Christmas album is there, but hides discreetly in the choice of songs and little touches of bells and chimes here and there. But it is certain that the darkness is there too trying to take the stage, and that is really fun!
Tarja is having fun on the album and shows once more that her vocal capacity is diverse and flawless.
Challenge met!"
8/10 - Seigneurs du Metal

"A cinemascope Christmas. And “dark”? Definitely. I didn’t think it was possible to create a downbeat version of “Feliz Navidad” but Tarja does it while still managing to sound awesome."
- David, The Moshville Times

"It’s a fantastic album. It’s not rock or metal, but I suspect that a lot of the fans of that side of her work will check this release out and many of them will enjoy it."
5 stars - Ant May , Planetmosh


"she’s come up with her own fascinating and intriguing take on some very traditional Xmas tunes" 4/5 - RAMZine

"I've heard plenty of music in my life that had me impressed, enchanted, captivated and fascinated. I know albums that push, that push all emotional buttons simultaneously, that are arranged beautifully and so on and so forth. However, I have not expected this to happen in combination. Not LIKE THIS" - Polyprisma

"It’s easily some of her most inspired work post-Nighwish."  8,5/ 10 - Dead Rhetoric


More reviews: (Spanish) (Spanish)

“from Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a dark Christmas)“
ON Out Now ON earMUSIC.

This year, Tarja is bringing the festive season early with the release of her brand new Christmas album “from Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a dark Christmas)” on November 17. This Christmas you can expect the unexpected.

The album includes 11 Christmas classics and brings them to a never before seen level, uniquely blending Tarja“s classically trained voice with darker gothic influences. Utilizing the sound of a grand orchestra, the most successful Finnish solo artist puts a sinister spin on traditional songs like “O Tannenbaum”, “We Wish You A Merry Christmas” and “Feliz Navidad”, reminding the listener of a dark movie score. Besides covering classic carols, “from Spirits and Ghosts” also features a 12th track, the brand new original “Together”. This song is aligned with the dark sound of the album and embodies the theme of ghosts and mysticism throughout, in a brilliant, Tarja-styled manner.

Says Tarja: Producing a dark Christmas album in the middle of the summer is a very interesting process, especially if you are doing it by the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Significantly different from the snowy Christmas that I am used to in my home country Finland. Another proof that the darkness comes from deep within. On this album, I explored the other side of Christmas. The Christmas of the lonely people and the missing ones. The Christmas for those that do not find joy in the blinking lights and the jingle bells. ” 

from Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a dark Christmas)” is going to be released on November 17th, 2017 on earMUSIC as 1CD digipak, 1LP Gatefold (180g, black) and Digital.
The “Official Store for a dark Christmas” offers a wide variety of exclusive, limited fan items and bundles.

The album is produced by Tarja, the American Emmy Award winning film score composer Jim Dooley and British producer Tim Palmer, known for his work with Pearl Jam, U2, David Bowie, Lang Lang and The Cure among others, who also mixed the album at 62“ Studio in Texas. The album was mastered at Sterling Sound in NY City.

This Christmas, gather your loved ones, dim the lights, put on some candles and play Tarja“s “from Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a dark Christmas) loud!



  1. Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  2. Together
  3. We Three Kings
  4. Deck The Halls
  5. Pie Jesu
  6. Amazing Grace
  7. O Tannenbaum
  8. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  9. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  10. Feliz Navidad
  11. What Child Is This
  12. We Wish You A Merry Christmas
  13. Sublime Gracia
  14. Ô viens, Ô viens, Emmanuel
  15. O Christmas Tree
  16. Feliz Navidad (Barbuda Relief and Recovery Charity Version)

CD 2
Christmas Together: Live at Olomouc and Hradec Králové 2019

  1. Sydämeeni Joulun Teen
  2. What Child Is This
  3. Tonttu
  4. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  5. Varpunen Jouluaamuna
  6. You Would Have Loved This
  7. Ave Maria (Paolo Tosti)
  8. Ave Maria (Michael Hoppé)
  9. Ave Maria (Giulio Caccini)
  10. Ave Maria (Tarja Turunen)
  11. Together
  12. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  13. The Christmas Song
  14. Walking in the Air
  15. Silent Night

Press Pictures